hide map

Malaysia Visa Regulations

Malaysia is probably the most tourist-friendly country when it comes to visa requirements. Here is a brief overview of the visa regulations for Malaysia.
a Malaysian stamp doesn't take much space in your passport

How long can I stay in Malaysia?
30 – 90 days visa-free stay for nationals of most countries

How much does a visa for Malaysia cost?
There is no charge for nationals of most countries. For some countries there might a charge of 6 – 50 Malaysian Ringgit.

Do I need to take care of my visa before I travel to Malaysia?
Probably not. Nationals of most counties are granted visa free access for a period ranging from 30 – 90 days when visiting for holidays or social purposes. Make sure your passport is valid for at least 6 months upon entering Malaysia.

Is there a departure tax when leaving Malaysia?

Detailed Information

Three (3) Months Visa-Free Visit
Albania, Austria, Australia, Algeria, Argentina, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Republic of Slovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kirghizstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, San Marino, Spain, South Korea, Republic of Bosnia, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Turkey, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Yemen

One (1) Month Visa-Free Visit
Citizens of ASEAN countries (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam) except Myanmar, Antigua, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Comoros, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iraq, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kazakhstan, Lesotho, Macau, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Namibia, Nauru, Nicaragua, North Korea, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Russia, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Solomon Islands, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Ukraine, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Vanatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Western Samoa, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe

14-Days Visa-Free Visit
Libya, Ivory Coast, Sierra Leone

Countries that require visa
Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, China, Columbia, DR Congo, Republic of Congo, Djibuti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethopia, Guinea-Bissau, Kosovo, Liberia, Mali, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Uzbekistan, Western Sahara

Citizen of Israel cannot enter Malaysia.


Visa extensions & applications, overstays and others


Where to apply?
You can apply for a visa at the nearest Malaysian embassy or consulate. Tourists from China and India can also apply online through the I-Visa system.

What to bring?
- 2 photocopies of passport
- 2 application forms
- 2 passport size photographs
- original airline ticket and 2 photocopies of the airline ticket
- bankstatement or traveler’s cheque

Visa extensions can be requested at one of the immigration offices throughout Malaysia.

In case of overstays up to 7 days, you will be charged about RM30 per day of overstay plus you will be refused from re-entering Malaysia 2 days for every day of overstay. In case of longer overstay, you risk imprisonment for a few hours to several weeks, pending a formal hearing. For overstays of more than 30 days, you risk imprisonment of several months to 5 years and possible caning.

Transit Visa
As long as transit passengers stay in the transit area at the airport, no transit visa is required.
Nationals of some countries in Asia and Africa are granted a visa exemption for transit through Malaysia for less than 5 days via a Malaysian international airport as long as you can show a confirmed onward airline ticket to a third country before arriving.

Sabah and Sarawak
Tourists traveling from Peninsula Malaysia to Sarawak and Sabah must clear immigration again. Visitors to Sabah can remain as long as their original passport stamp is valid. Since Sarawak is a semi-autonomous state, you will have their passport stamped again upon entry. Usually you will get a 1-month stamp. If you start your trip in Sarawak and then fly to the mainland, make sure that you get your passport stamped upon entry in Peninsula Malaysia.

Official Websites
Immigration Department of Malaysia: http://www.imi.gov.my/index.php/en/visa
Ministry of Foreign Affairs: http://www.kln.gov.my/web/guest/requirement-for-foreigner


Backpacking Asia wishes to advice that although the information on visa regulations on this website was created to the best of our knowledge, it is intended as a guide only. Due to the complexity of visa requirements and frequent changes in procedures, we strongly advise you to contact the nearest concerning embassy, consulate or immigration office for the latest up-to-date information.
we'd love to hear your feedback about Backpacking Asia and what you think we can do better. suggestions to add something new? something not working for you? drop us a line!